Why did Stephen Hawking​ warned us to stop reaching out to aliens?

Why did Stephen Hawking​ warned us to stop reaching out to aliens? by Tony Garcia

Answer by Tony Garcia:

I answered a similar question, Why did Hawking warn us not to touch the aliens? I’ll post that answer below, as I feel it suffices.

Your assumptions regarding the intentions of extraterrestrial life roaming the universe are not the consensus among scientists who explore the cosmos. In 2010, Stephen Hawking warned against contact with extraterrestrials, stating that “intelligent aliens may be rapacious marauders, roaming the cosmos in search of resources to plunder and planets to conquer and colonize.” (1|2)

As an answer to a similar question, “What do you think about Hawking’s and others’ statement that aliens could be a serious threat for us?” I responded with the following:

“Every time I step on an anthill or ask my local pest remover to rid the house of a hornet’s nest, I have become an alien venturing into their world, showing my disdain and discomfort for them as they intrude into my space—regardless of whether or not their residence preceded my own.”

(1) Stephen Hawking Is Still Afraid of Aliens
(2) Stephen Hawking's chilling warning for humanity

Why did Stephen Hawking​ warned us to stop reaching out to aliens?

Leave a Reply

